Makeup Routine

Makeup Routine to Start Your Day

Aviary Photo_131378027339866654The choice to wear makeup either occasionally or everyday is an entirely personal decision that every woman has to face. I believe that the regular use of makeup is important not because it is a standard for beauty, but because it provides you with a more polished look. It is a rare occasion that I wake up in the morning without dark circles under my eyes and a tired expression, but even the application of a simple makeup routine brightens up my face helping me look ready for the day.

My makeup routine is nothing fancy, but it helps me kick-start my morning looking fresh. These 5 steps are an easy and quick way to start off your day:

Step 1: Apply concealer. Concealer is most effective when applied under your eyes and on any blemishes or red spots. Once applied, blend the concealer with a beauty blender sponge to even out your skin tone. A helpful tip that I recently learned is that if you dampen the end of your beauty blender with water it makes blending much easier.

Step 2: Apply your foundation. Until recently I was never a big fan of foundation because it always seemed to get everywhere whenever I tried to get it onto my face. If this is a problem for you, try using a makeup brush with dense bristles to apply your foundation. This method applies better coverage and minimizes mess.

Step 3: Apply Bronzer and Blush. I always feel like my foundation drowns out my complexion which makes it essential to apply bronzer and blush. In my everyday makeup routine I will lightly brush bronzer, or a slightly darker powder foundation, over my face to add some color. I then apply blush onto my cheeks and blend it for a subtle look.

Step 4: Eye Color. For my daily look I tend to gravitate towards more neutral color combination, but I always stick to the same pattern. This includes a lighter bronze tone base, light brown on the eyelids, and a darker brown blended into the outer corner of the eye inward on the crease. This color combination works great with my blue eyes, but it is important to note that different eye makeup colors are recommended depending on the color of your eyes. For example, brown eyes look best with grey toned eye makeup combinations whereas blue eyes look best with more natural tones.

Step 5: Finishing touches. To finish off my makeup routine I apply eyeliner, mascara, and lipstick. These elements help to pull everything together and brighten up your complexion for the day ahead. Aviary Photo_131378031291970351  Following these steps can help you maintain a quick ten minute makeup routine that will get you ready for the day. Though putting on makeup may seem tedious and unnecessary at times, I believe that it is an essential element of style. Adding makeup to your everyday routine can help pull together any look that you may be trying to accomplish.

 

Leave a Reply

