Transitional Style

Build a Transitional Style From one Season to the Next

If you have limited storage space for your clothes like I do, then it can be especially difficult to transition between seasons. Storage restraints also make it important to know what times of the year you can wear certain items. Anything from the color, style, or weight of the clothes can determine if it can be worn at different times of the year. For example, shorts may not be the best choice in January and a chunky sweater isn’t wearable in August. However, what do you do during the transition months when it can be anywhere from 30-50 degrees in the morning but reach 65-80 by later in the day?Aviary Photo_131389342200720701

Mixing items from different seasons can help you get through these transition periods but, organization is key. You have to be able to recognize which items are more versatile than others. It’s always a good idea to have a few sweaters that can go with just about anything that way, if the temperature turns out to be cooler that what you expected you have options on what to wear. Leggings are also essential transition pieces because they can provide extra security with your outfit when you don’t know what to expect out of the day. Leggings are also good when trying to tone down dresses that are intended for summer or spring.

In preparation for these transition months I always to to organize my closet and refresh my memory on the clothing option I have. This is especially important when I have had clothes packed away during a certain season such as winter or summer. These organizational sessions help me to figure out what still fits, is in good condition, and has the ability to get me through the weather changes. From there I know what needs to be added to my closet so that I can have a variety of outfits for the season and can keep an eye out for good sales whenever I go shopping.Aviary Photo_131378032028632721

Some staple piece that I have come to live by are jeans, cardigans, leggings, and boots. I always have my “go to” cardigans that I try and keep on hand throughout the year and it is also a good idea to have a few pairs of jeans readily available. Boots and jeans are also good to have on hand because they can be for any casual occasion while still keeping you comfortable. The combination of these elements can help make any outfit versatile in fall or spring.

Leave a Reply

